ACMs: Jason Aldean Named Entertainer Of The Year; Chris Stapleton And Miranda Lambert Also Win Big

Singer Jason Aldean, winner of Entertainer of the Year award, backstage at the 51st annual Academy of Country Music Awards held at the MGM Grand Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada on April 3, 2016. Photo by Jim Ruymen/UPI

LAS VEGAS, April 4 (UPI) — Jason Aldean was declared Entertainer of the Year at the 51st Academy of Country Music Awards ceremony in Las Vegas Sunday night.

Dolly Parton was presented with the Tex Ritter Award for her TV movie “Coat of Many Colors.” The prize was established to “recognize a motion picture that featured country music and received major exposure,” the organization said.

Chris Stapleton won Male Vocalist of the Year, New Male Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year for Traveller and Song of the Year for “Nobody to Blame.”

Miranda Lambert won Female Vocalist of the Year for the seventh consecutive year, setting a new record for the most consecutive wins in that category. Lambert also won Vocal Event of the Year for “Smokin’ and Drinkin'” with Little Big Town, a band that earned the Vocal Group of the Year title, as well.

Thomas Rhett won Single Record of the Year for “Die a Happy Man” and Kelsea Ballerini was named New Female Vocalist of the Year.

Eric Church won Video of the Year for “Mr. Misunderstood” and Florida Georgia Line won Vocal Duo of the Year for the third year in a row.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here