Bill Murray To Receive The Mark Twain Prize For American Humor

Actor Bill Murray at the NCAA Division 1 Men's Basketball Championship in St. Louis on March 20, 2016. File Photo by Doug Devoe/UPI | License Photo

WASHINGTON, June 13 (UPI) — “Ghostbusters,” “Groundhog Day” and “Caddyshack” icon Bill Murray will receive the 19th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor at a ceremony on Oct. 23.

Named to honor one of the world’s greatest humorists, the honor will be presented at a Washington gala to be taped for broadcast nationwide.

Entertainers are expected to gather in the Kennedy Center Concert Hall to salute the popular, 65-year-old actor, who began his career on “Saturday Night Live,” then went on to star in dozens of movies, including “Stripes,” “Meatballs,” “Scrooged,” “Lost in Translation,” “Rushmore” and “The Royal Tenenbaums.”

Past recipients of the Mark Twain Prize include Eddie Murphy, Jay Leno, Carol Burnett, Will Ferrell, Tina Fey, Bill Cosby and George Carlin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here