Laura Dern, Steven Spielberg Elected To Academy Board Of Governors

Laura Dern attends the Burberry Prorsum Womenswear A/W 2016 Fashion Show in London on February 22, 2016. File Photo by Paul Treadway/UPI | License Photo

LOS ANGELES, July 19 (UPI) —¬†Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences officials say actress Laura Dern and director Steven Spielberg have been elected to its 2016-’17 board of governors.

“I’m honored and privileged to welcome the academy’s new board,” Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs said Monday in a statement.

“I thank our members for actively participating and taking another step toward inclusion, one that will bring new ideas and perspectives as we continue to expand our global outreach while leading our community forward.”

Also elected to the board for the first time are costume designer Sharen K. Davis, documentary filmmaker Roger Ross Williams, composer Laura Karpman and sound engineer Kevin Collier.

The academy presents the Oscars for excellence in film each year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here