Taylor Swift, Ed Sheeran win big at the Billboard Awards

Photo: Courtesy Taylor Swift

May 21 (UPI) — Ed Sheeran was named Top Artist at the Billboard Music Awards ceremony in Las Vegas on Sunday.

He also collected the prizes for Top Male Artist, Top Hot 100 Artist, Top Song Sales Artist, Top Radio Songs Artist and Top Radio Song for “Shape of You.”

Taylor Swift was deemed Top Female Artist and her record “Reputation won for Top Selling Album.

Kendrick Lamar earned the accolades for Top Streaming Songs Artist, Top Rap Artist, Top Male Rap Artist and Top Streaming (Audio) for “Humble,” as well as Top Rap Album and Top Billboard 200 Album for “DAMN.”

The awards for Top R&B Artist, Top R&B Male Artist and Top R&B Tour went to Bruno Mars. His “24K Magic” also won for Top R&B Album and “That’s What I Like” earned the Top R&B Song title.

“Despacito” by Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee featuring Justin Bieber was declared Top Collaboration, Top Hot 100 Song, Top Latin Song, Top Streaming Song (Video) and Top Selling Song.

Imagine Dragons picked up the trophies for Top Duo/Group, Top Rock Artist, Top Rock Album for “Evolve and Top Rock Song for “Believer.”

BTS was named Top Social Artist, Camila Cabello won the Billboard Chart Achievement Award, Khalid earned the Top New Artist trophy, Janet Jackson took home the Icon Award and Drake scored the Top Billboard 200 Artist statuette.

U2 was recognized as Top Touring Artist and Top Rock Tour.

The Billboard Music Awards gala celebrates artists across all genres of music. It aired on NBC with Kelly Clarkson acting as emcee. Clarkson and Ariana Grande were early performers at the event. Others who took the stage later in the evening included Camila Cabello, Shawn Mendes, Dua Lipa and South Korean boy band BTS.

Among the awards presenters were Nick JonasCiaraHailey BaldwinTyra Banks, Alison Brie, The Chainsmokers, Andy CohenSimon Cowell, Darren Criss, Halsey, T.I., Justin Hartley, Chrissy Metz, Mustard, Chloe Kim, Mila Kunis, Padma Lakshmi, Des Linden, Julia Michaels, French Montana, Ne-Yo, Derek HoughJenna DewanEvan RossAshlee Simpson and Grace VanderWaal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here