Dan Aykroyd and others to honor Bill Murray at Mark Twain award ceremony

Bill Murray arrives on the red carpet at the New York Premiere of "Rock the Kasbah" at AMC Loews Lincoln Square in New York City on October 19, 2015. File photo by John Angelillo/UPI | License Photo

NEW YORK, Sept. 13 (UPI) — Bill Murray will be honored with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor in an upcoming PBS special featuring Dan Aykroyd, Bill Hader, and Sigourney Weaver.

Also scheduled to make an appearance are David Letterman, Roy Blount Jr., Aziz Ansari, Jimmy Kimmel and Murray’s older brother Brian Doyle-Murray.

The award, handed out yearly by the Kennedy Center, has previously been bestowed on Richard Pryor, George Carlin and Carol Burnett, among others.

Murray is being recognized for his decades in the industry which started in 1977 as a cast member on “Saturday Night Live.”

Murray went on to star in more than five dozen films, including “Caddyshack” (1980), “Stripes” (1981), “The Razor’s Edge” (1984), “Ghostbusters” (1984), “Groundhog Day” (1993), “Rushmore” (1998) and “Lost in Translation” (2003).

The award ceremony will take place on Oct. 23 and will air on PBS Oct. 28.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here