January 17, 2016 Will Be “An Incredible Night of Entertainment!”

The 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards
Photo Courtesy: CCMA'S

NEW YORK – SEPTEMBER 30, 2015 (Gephardt Daily) – A+E Networks, home of “The Critics’ Choice Television Awards” and “The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards” for the past year, will combine the two shows into one star-studded three-hour event.

Together, the network and its continued partnership with the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) and the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) will showcase the achievements of some of the biggest names in television and film today.

The announcement was made jointly today by Elaine Frontain Bryant, Executive Vice President of Programming for A&E, and Joey Berlin, BFCA/BTJA President. “The 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards” will air live on A&E, Lifetime and LMN on Sunday, January 17 at 8 p.m. ET/PT immediately following a live Red Carpet show at 7 p.m. ET/PT.

Photo Courtesy: CCMA'S
Photo Courtesy: CCMA’S

Last year’s movie and television award shows were hosted by Michael Strahan and Cat Deeley respectively, joined by the industry’s biggest stars. The host for this year’s combined award show will be announced at a later date.

“We are thrilled to bring the two Critics’ Choice Awards shows into one super-show,” said Berlin.  “At a time when there are so many great movies and television shows to choose from – and so many spectacular performances – it is logical, appropriate and useful for America’s leading film and television critics and reporters to collectively honor the best of the best at the start of the new year.  Bringing all these stars together in one room is going to create an incredible night of entertainment.”

“Combining the television and film communities within one telecast of ‘The Critics’ Choice Awards’ even further elevates this star-studded gala event,” said Frontain Bryant.  “We’re thrilled to be able to give viewers an up close look at so much talent together under one roof with this unique and enhanced awards show.”

Photo Courtesy: CCMA'S
Photo Courtesy: CCMA’S

“The Critics’ Choice Awards” are bestowed annually by the BFCA and BTJA to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics’ organization in the United States and Canada, representing almost 300 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today’s film going public.

Photo Courtesy: CCTA
Photo Courtesy: CCTA

BTJA is the collective voice of almost 100 journalists who regularly cover television for TV viewers, radio listeners and online audiences. Historically, “The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards” are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

“The 21st Annual Critics’ Choice Awards” will be produced by Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment.  BFCA/BTJA were represented by WME and Dan Black of Greenberg Traurig on this deal.


The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing almost 300 television, radio and online critics.

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) is a partner organization to the Broadcast Film Critics Association. BTJA includes TV, radio and Internet journalists who cover television on a regular basis. For more information, visit: www.CriticsChoice.com

About A&E

Now reaching more than 96 million homes, A&E is the home to quality original content that inspires and challenges audiences to BE ORIGINAL. A&E offers a diverse mix of uniquely immersive entertainment ranging from the network’s original scripted series, including “Bates Motel” and “Damien” to signature non-fiction franchises, including “Duck Dynasty,” “Wahlburgers” and “Storage Wars.”

The A&E website is located at aetv.com, or on Twitter at twitter.com/aetv and Facebook at facebook.com/AETV.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here