Broadway’s ‘Hello, Dolly’ and ‘Come From Away’ win big at the Drama Desk Awards

Bette Midler arrives on the red carpet at the 86th Academy Awards in Los Angeles on March 2, 2014. Her Broadway revival of "Hello Dolly" was a big winner at Sunday's Drama Desk Awards. File Photo by Kevin Dietsch/UPI

June 5 (UPI) — “Hello, Dolly” and “Come From Away” were the big winners at the Drama Desk Awards ceremony in New York Sunday night.

“Hello, Dolly” was named Outstanding Revival of a Musical, while its stars Bette Midler and Gavin Creel won for Outstanding Actress in a Musical and Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical.

“Come From Away” earned the title Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Book of a Musical, and its leading lady Jenn Colella went home with the prize for Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical.

Andy Karl picked up the statuette for Outstanding Actor in a Musical for “Groundhog Day.”

“Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812” earned accolades in several technical categories, including Outstanding Set Design for a Musical, Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical and Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical.

The Outstanding Director of a Musical award was shared by Rachel Chavkin for “Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812” and David Cromer for “The Band’s Visit.”

“The Band’s Visit” scored the honors for Outstanding Music and Outstanding Lyrics, as well.

In the drama categories, “Oslo” was deemed Outstanding Play and “Jitney” Outstanding Revival of a Play.

Ruben Santiago-Hudson won the Outstanding Director of a Play prize for helming “Jitney,” which also garnered the trophy for Outstanding Music in a Play.

“The Little Foxes” co-stars Laura Linney and Cynthia Nixon earned the Drama Desk Awards for Outstanding Actress in a Play and Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play. The show was also recognized with the Outstanding Costume Design for a Play distinction.

The Outstanding Actor in a Play prize went to Kevin Kline for “Present Laughter” and the Outstanding Feature Actor in a Play award was presented to Danny DeVito for “The Price.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here